Scott Lee, Composer Join my mailing list SCOTT LEE, COMPOSER


As the winner of Symphony In C's 2016-17 Young Composers' Competition, Lee's orches-
tral work Vicious Circles will be performed by the Symphony In C on January 28.


Lee has been awarded a 2016 Charles Ives Scholarship by the American Academy of Arts and Letters. The scholarship of $7500 is given to composition students of great promise.

January 29, 2017

In a review of Symphony In C's world premiere performance of Vicious Circles, David Patrick Stearns describes Lee's music as "colorful and engaging." He goes on to say "the multi-episode piece chases and builds on itself with the minimalist intricacy of Michael Torke, but with dramatically horrific interruptions of Christopher Rouse."

December 29, 2016

Lee will be attending the summer music festival where he will study with esteemed composers Chris Theofanidis and Stephen Hartke. The festival has commissioned Lee to write a string quartet to be premiered at the festival, alongside a short orchestral work to be read by the Aspen Conducting Academy Orchestra.

September 1, 2016

Providence-based new music ensemble Verdant Vibes has chosen to perform Bottom Heavy from its Call for Scores twice in its upcoming season. The first performance will take place in Boston on April 22, and the second in Providence on April 23.

October 9, 2016

Chinese virtuoso guitarist Meng Su gave a recital as part of San Francisco Performances' PIVOT series, including works by Lee, Bach, John Williams, and Sergio Assad. The concert was streamed on Facebook Live.

June 23, 2016

Lee's most recent chamber piece, Hurry Up and Wait, was performed at the retreat in Dublin, NH by two members of the MIVOS Quartet, Lauren Cauley and Mariel Roberts, alongside pianist Steve Beck and clarinetist Carlos Cordeiro. Lee participated in the weeklong retreat where he had lessons with Michael Daugherty, D.J. Sparr, and Caroline Mallonée, attended conducting workshops and pedagogy seminars, and performed as part of the chamber choir.