Scott Lee, Composer Join my mailing list SCOTT LEE, COMPOSER


for large orchestra (2013)

  • [4333/4431/timp/4perc/str]
  • Duration: ca. 12'00" (in three movements)
  • I. Blue Skies, Red Sun
    II. Sprouts, Shoots, and Leaves
    III. Hidden Scrolls
    Commissioned by the American Craft Council and the Occasional Symphony
  • First Reading:
    April 8, 2013
    The Peabody Symphony Orchestra
    Norman Huynh, Conductor
    The Peabody Institute
    Baltimore, MD
  • Rent Score and Parts | Purchase Score

Program Notes: Three Images is adapted from a string quartet written for and premiered at the American Crafts Council show in Baltimore, and each movement was inspired by a piece of art from different artists at the show.

Ann Brauer's art quilt, Clouds, inspired the first movement, and features three red suns against a blue horizon. The music focuses on the contrast between the lightness of the sky and the ominous character of the red sun.

Nebiur Arellano's silk painting, Musical Garden, was the basis for the second movement. Its dynamic and abstract image of a garden is reflected by musical depictions of sprouting flowers and plants.

The third movement is inspired by Pat Littlefield's paper construction, Mysteries and Secrets, in which a hidden compartment reveals an unravelled scroll written in some indecipherable language. The music evokes ancient sounds, and cryptic glimpses of a forgotten melody lead toward some alluring secret.